Real book

Flip version of book

Research:

The first step to this project was to research the area we had chosen so we could get an idea of what stories to write based on the landmarks in that area. I chose Canterbury as the area to write my stories based on the landmarks it has to offer including the Cathedral, the Marlowe Theater along with four others. 

Once I’d chosen my area to base the stories I began researching each landmark and a route I could choose for the walk. For the landmarks I searched each place online to find most of the information, looking at sites like Visit Canterbury which gave me primary research off each off my chosen Landmarks. I also looked at some books I found in the college library such as ‘Canterbury: A Pictorial History’ and ‘A Canterbury Girl’ both were historical and factual and told me a lot of information I previously didn’t know.

We also researched styles of written and the genres we could use, looking at horror, crime, magical, travel and others. I decided to go with the genre of crime because I had an idea of what I could do with and how I could do it using the landmarks.


Stories:

After researching all the needed facts for my stories I began to write them. I did not write my stories in chronological order because at first I found it hard to write about the first landmark so I ended up writing the story for the Marlowe first which I called ‘Pantomime Murder’s after a serious of murders happen during the pantomime. Before I wrote each story I would mind map them so I could get all of my ideas onto paper, this meant when I was writing I could get referring back to the mind map so that I could keep my story heading in the direction I wanted it to go. However at points I did change my stories from the ones I’d originally written on the mind map because I thought that the story was to typical and so I added a twist to it.

Throughout my stories I used two characters which were in every story. These characters being the Detective and forensic scientist, I wrote them as a pair having the idea to follow a typical crime convention of the two main characters being this investigating pair, similar to ‘Sherlock and Watson’ and ‘Batman and Robin’. Using the same characters helped me write the stories as I could keep the same characters and write in first 3rd person without having to add new main characters every time.

Overall I enjoyed written the stories because I got to think of Canterbury in a different way. Every landmark I chose I thought of as a crime scene rather than the historical landmark it was, meaning that I could create a more crime ridden Canterbury. Doing this meant I was able to create an atmosphere more appropriate to the stories themselves.

Blog post showing completion of stories.


In-Design:

 

Once completing the stories I began to design my book. I started with creating a mood board so I could get an idea of what colours to use and the typography. We had lessons on how to use the software meaning that we could use it independently. I understood In-Design really well which meant I was able to do my book in two weeks.

My plan for the book was to keep it simple but not to simple making sure that each story is clear and separate from the on prior. But I also wanted to give it a dark tone as it is a crime so I used darker reds and black as the main colours, plus I made sure that all of the photos were dark when needed and light when not. In-Design allowed me to lay out all my stories the way I wanted and use the photos I wanted. Plus I really liked the end result of my overall book, it had all the aspects I wanted and some extras I was able to do.

But there were some parts I wished I’d done to make the book seem more professional. I would have made the backgrounds a dark red so it would have standing out more. Plus there were some parts of the book that could have had an extra picture or drawing however it wouldn’t have related to the story so I decided to leave it blank, thinking back on that I would change it.

 

Blog post about In-Design. 1 2


Photoshop:

I needed to use Photoshop for this project so I could draw and edit photos for my book to then place in my story. I enjoyed using Photoshop because I understood it and the more I used it the more I learnt about it and so I could make my photos more professional.

When I did my map I wanted it to look more interesting and so I decided to draw out each of the landmarks on Photoshop to then place on the map. Doing this meant I learnt how to draw on Photoshop which means I can use this skill for future projects.

I also I had to design a front cover of my book, I created the front cover on Photoshop becauseProcessed with VSCO with p5 preset I wanted it to be dark and more creative than something that I could create on In-Design. You can see that I went for more of a classic Pulp Fiction book cover aesthetics, with the use of the strong red against the dark background it means it pops out against the background. Plus I made the two silhouettes quite big as the original Pulp Fiction show all of the characters placed quite big on the front cover. I do really like how it turned out because it reflects whats inside the book really well.

Photoshop is one of the aspects I enjoy most because I understand it all and I know that I can make practically whatever I want to on the software so I really don’t have a limit to my creativity.

Blogs focused on Photoshop: 1 2 3


Audio:

Audio (Unfortunately my narration has disappeared  and I’m unable to fix’s this problem. Sorry.)

I used audio to recorded all of my stories and create an interactive side which would allow the reader to also listen to the stories. However the audio took the longest out of all the aspects of this project because I had more issues with it than the rest. But it did help me learn some new skills in terms of editing audio and what I can use to make it better such as sound effects.

When I first did my audio I used my some of my classmates as the voices for the two main characters however when I went back to edit I realised that I needed people who sounded more professional and so used some actors which gave my audio a better sound. Once I did this I was able to edit each of my stories after I had recorded the narration, I used the software Audacity as I found it the most simplest to use in the time I had. But when I came to editing I discovered that not all of the audio I recorded from the actors had saved properly and so I was unable to fully edit every one of my stories. But I did still manage to  include sound effects giving every story a more serious and radio feeling.

I did enjoy editing the audio, more so than recording, because when I started editing I could make it more of my own. Plus I liked how I could improve on some of the simplest aspects like a slight breath so that my audio could sound more like something on the radio. Also I liked learning all of the new skills and hope that next time I do audio I can improve on the recording and learn more skills.

Blogs focused on audio: 1 2


Final Evaluation:

Overall I really enjoyed this project, it was something different and it allowed us to learn a lot of new skills we can use in the future. This means that with projects like our FMP we can use all of the skills we learnt in this project to make our FMP more professional. Also I liked how we could use our creativity without any boundaries in a way that we might of not done normally.

Plus looking back at my proposal I stuck to what I’d original set out to do, meaning I’ve followed my plan and knew what I wanted to do and how I wanted to do it. Following this meant that

The one thing I found more difficult than the rest was the audio part because of all the errors I had with it and how long it took. Also when it came to placing audio in a place you could hear it I was unable to do it and it deleted my audio I edited and so I was only able to edit one audio in time of the deadline.

However with the next project I hope to do some audio so I can improve on the skills I’ve learnt, along with the rest of the skills I’ve learnt.


Refrences:

  • “Visit Canterbury, Whitstable And Herne Bay For Great Days Out”. Canterbury.co.uk. N.p., 2017. Web. 22 Mar. 2017.
  • Johnson, David. Timaru & South Canterbury. 1st ed. Christchurch, N.Z.: Canterbury University Press in association with Dan Cosgrove Ltd and D.C. Turnbull & Co., 1996. Print.
  • Tritton, Mary. A Canterbury Girl. 1st ed. Maidstone: Tritton, 1998. Print.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

