This week we learnt how to structure a script, how to use showing vs telling in storytelling and how to work well in collaboration. Learning each of these meant that we were able to create a short film that used no dialogue but was still very clear in what the meaning was.


Short Films:

To gather an understanding of how we can use the technique of showing rather than telling, we looked at 3 short films: The Black Hole, Cargo, Memories. All of these films were different in the way that they each had a different meaning and are all from different genres, however, they also share the similarity in that they are all short films that don’t use any speech but are still very clear in terms of meaning.

My favourite out of the three was ‘Cargo’ because it was very clear in terms of the direction of the story and it was able to create emotion without using any words. They used a variety of tones throughout the film which made it clear to the audience what direction the story was going to take, this meaning at the start the tones weren’t as dark as they were towards the end. Plus the story itself was very unique for the genre as you expect that he’ll kill her, but they were able to show that there was still apart of him that still had his humanity.

Once we researched and discussed as a class what we thought the films were trying to tell us, we were tasked to make our own short film. The topic was ‘loneliness’ meaning that we had to create a short film that was clear but without using any dialogue.

We did so by:

Pre-Production

  • Ideas (Mind Map of collected ideas for the film)
  • Beat Sheet
  • Story Board
  • Script.

Ideas:

We gathered our ideas in a mind map which then helped us develop each of our ideas, and how we could include them all to make a film. We did this by creating 3 stories which all share the fact that the main character is lonely, and in the end, each character ends up meeting each other. Doing this in a mind map allowed us to expand and gather a better idea of how we could make them into a film without using any speech.

Beat Sheet:

We used the beat sheet as a way to break down what was going to happen in each scene. Doing so by clearly writing each scene into its own box to clearly show what we want to happen and how to do so. The beat sheet gave us a clear reminder of what we needed to when it came to filming.

Storyboard:

The storyboard was used so that we knew what we wanted the scene to look, and so how we wanted it to be shoot. This meaning that each box had a simple drawing of what we planned to be in the scene, with a caption of what was going on in the scene. The board helped us know what we wanted and made it clear for us to do.

Script:

The script was a simple bullet point like a plan that was used so could keep referring back to it whilst filming, meaning that we could keep a clear idea of what we wanted. Plus with working in a team it meant that if one needed to refer back to the script then they could simple understand were we were during filming.

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once we had completed all of the preparation work, we filmed the short film. We did so by following all of the aspects that helped us to do so, such as the Storyboard or the beat sheet. Filming went well, we were able to complete all the needed scenes as we planned and doing so meant that they came out to the standard we were hoping for. We do so by making sure that each person had a role so nobody was doing nothing, meaning that we could make the film good and do so quickly. When we finished filming we began to edit, editing went well overall, however, there were some aspects we couldn’t do that we once hoped to do, this being music over the top so that it wasn’t just silence for the whole and also give the film a more emotional atmosphere. However, we are still working on being able to show the film as we had a few technical issues.

Once we finished filming and editing the short film, we were tasked to make the piece into another format than a script. I did so by making the 3 stories into an article:

Teens feel more lonely than ever.   

 Recent studies uncover that today’s youth could be more lonely than ever.   

With social media being such a significant part of today’s youth life’s, it’s hard to imagine that they could be lonely. However, a recent study from London’s King College showed that 62% of 1000 teenagers (between 16-24) questioned felt lonely.   

The report suggested that the rise in loneliness amongst the youth could be caused by the stress of social media, puberty and even the stress of school. We spoke to 3 teenagers, all of which have felt lonely during their teenage years.  

Lucy May, 20  

When I was 18 I had the choice of going to University, however, I decided not too. But all my friends did, and so they all moved away and I stayed home, I quickly began to feel lonely. I would see their Instagram and Facebook post of how much fun they were having with all their new friends. It took a lot of time to get over it but I managed to stay away from social media and I started to stop feeling sorry for myself. Of course, there are still times when I feel lonely but everyone experiences them. It’s impossible to never feel lonely.    

Margo Crown, 19  

When I was seventeen I was in a car crash in which I lost one of my closet friends too. For a long time after, I felt as if I’d lost a part of me. I didn’t know how to cope with the sudden loss of someone who was close to me and I shut myself away from the world. It was one of the worst things I could have done to myself, it made me miss out on so much. I remember one day just thinking that I was being selfish and wasting my life. Knowing that I lived and she didn’t, I felt that I was taking my life for granted. So I picked myself up, began to talk to people and go out more, and I didn’t feel lonely anymore.   

Beth Matthews, 16   

I’ve always been a quite person, but it wasn’t until I made the jump from primary to secondary school when I stopped being as social as I was before. My friends become socially confident whereas I found it harder and harder to talk to people. Even those I grew up with because I didn’t talk to people my anxiety grew and I just felt myself feeling worse than ever. I wouldn’t say I’ve gotten over it, but I do feel that my anxiety is more controlled and so I found it easier to talk to people.  

Before writing the article I researched some professional articles based on loneliness amongst teenagers. One that really helped was from The Guardian. I tried to follow the same structure but in a shorter way, this meaning that I kept the fact that evidence has been found to show whether the statement is true or false and then followed this with personal stories about the theme. The stories I used were the ones we wrote for the film we created as it allowed me to create the link between film and a different format.

Overall I thought that I was able to include techniques used in industry style articles, such as using opening 25 words, evidence of research and short sentences to grip the reader. Doing this will mean that in the future I would have had more practice doing said techniques and so I should be able to find it easier when it comes to writing articles.


Refernces:

 

 

 

 

